Climbing “Mother of Assault”

Last week’s climb was my most difficult so far. When we arrived at the area, you could guess that it has been raining for days there. The problem is when you live a busy city life and is already used to the bipolar weather, you tend to assume that rain and mud is something that you can handle, even unprepared.

Of course I know I’m going to climb but my all-year daily routine, which already includes random formats of exercise such as running, certainly did not prepare me for the slippery, unpredictable killer surface that I have traversed.

The steep trail towards the summit was another catch. As we climb, the water was flowing both from the mountain and from the sky, making it hard for me to convince myself that the outdoor sandals I was wearing could provide me comfort until the end. It did not. My footwear’s love affair with mud did not go right and there were times that I had to remove them because walking barefoot was easier. I also bumped my legs into sharp stones several times as I make giant leaps, resulting to wounds that have already turned into hard-earned scars.

After almost four hours, we finally reached the peak. We we’re freezing, the rain kept on pouring on us, and the mist didn’t allow us to see the breathtaking view down there. Nevertheless, I was still in in awe. Being more than 2,000 meters off the ground is always caressing. The joy in reaching the peak of a mountain who gave me nothing but physical pain is something different.

Mother of Assault, that’s how they call it and I guess I already know why. But I did not regret climbing it even if leaving it was even harder. The trail going down to the famous Tinipak River was the hardest part. It’s almost impossible to get through some parts of it. It was also lengthy that we needed five hours to get over it. On the process, my head had no other thoughts but the hope that this mountain will let us out alive..

The next catch of this killer trail was the Tinipak River. It was just so beautiful, I’m speechless.

A day after the trip, my body was aching all over but it was the kind of pain that didn’t make me swear not to do it again. In fact, I want more. Sometimes, connecting with nature has risk and demands that are just too unbelievable but this is the kind of battle that I know I can win over. I know that if I deal with something with patience, care, and respect, I will be able to see its full potential. Maybe, the same thing applies to  discovering the beauty of nature.

